DEPARTMENT OF COMMERCE & INSURANCE

P.O. Box 690, Jefferson City, Mo. 65102-0690

INSURANCE BULLETIN 20-13

REVISED HEALTH INSURANCE RATE FILINGS - FILING DATES FOR PLAN YEAR 2021

Issued: May 13, 2020

The following Bulletin is issued by the Missouri Department of Commerce and Insurance
(“Department”) to inform and educate the reader on the specified issue. It does not have the
force and effect of law, is not an evaluation of any specific facts or circumstances, shall not
be considered a statement of general applicability and is not binding on the Department. See
§ 374.015, RSMo (2016).

To: Health carriers writing health insurance or health benefit plan coverage in Missouri
From: Director Chlora Lindley-Myers
Re: Health Insurance Rate Filing Key Dates (2021 Plan Year)

This Bulletin replaces and supersedes Bulletin 20-04, issued on March 4, 2020. The U.S.
Department of Health and Human Services, Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services,
Center for Consumer Information and Insurance Oversight (CMS-CCIIO) published a revised
Insurance Standards Bulletin on May 7, 2020.1 In this revised bulletin, CMS-CCIIO revised
several key rate filing deadlines, including the date for publishing proposed rates and the date
rates for Qualified Health Plans must be final. As a result of these revisions, the Department is
also revising some of its deadlines. Revised dates are noted in bold type in this Bulletin.

1 “Revised Bulletin: Timing of Submission of Rate Filing Justifications for the 2020 Filing Year for Single Risk
Pool Coverage Effective on or after January 1, 20217, May 7, 2020. Available at:
https://www.cms.gov/files/document/2020-revised-final-rate-review-timeline-bulletin.pdf
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This Bulletin provides notice to health carriers of key filing dates for health benefit plans that
will be offered during 2021, as required by §376.465, RSMo (2016)?2, and 20 CSR 400-13.100.
These dates are based on current federal guidance, and are subject to change.

SUMMARY OF FILING TIMEERAMES FOR PLAN YEAR 2021

Type of Plan Filing Timeframe
Single Risk Pool — Plans in File between June 27, 2020 and July 15, 2020 to meet
Individual and Small Group federal and state guidelines.
ACA markets
Transitional File at least 60 days prior to use. Filings, which include

finalized rates, that are submitted on or before August 31,
2020 will have their reviews prioritized.

Filings submitted later than August 31, 2020 may
have reviews extend beyond the intended
implementation date.

Grandfathered File at least 30 days prior to use.
Student Health Plans File at least 60 days prior to use.
Other Health Benefit Plans File at least 30 days prior to use.

(Dental, Vision, etc.)

# # #

For additional detail regarding the timeframes in the chart above, please see the following
sections.

Applicability
The purpose of this Bulletin is to announce rate filing timeframes for plan types subject to a

determination of “reasonableness” pursuant to §376.465.7. For ease, this Bulletin will refer to
the following plans as “Subsection 7 Plans™:

e “Health benefit plans” as defined in 8376.465 (excluding plans sold in the large
employer group market);

e Individual and small employer group plans subject to the requirements of the single risk
pool;

e Student health plans; and

e Transitional plans.

2 All statutory references herein are to RSMo (2016) unless otherwise noted.
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Section 376.465 specifies the timeframes applicable to rate filings for all other health benefit
plans including, but not limited to, grandfathered plans and excepted benefit plans.

File Rates for Individual and Small Group ACA Plans No Later than July 15, 2020

The Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services (CMS), Center for Consumer Information
and Insurance Oversight (CCIIO) designated Missouri as an “Effective Rate Review” state in
2017. To retain that status, the Department must ensure rate filings meet federal guidelines.
This Bulletin serves to indicate that the Department intends to follow federal filing and posting
guidelines to the extent possible under Missouri law.

Current federal guidelines require rates to be filed for single risk pool plans issued or renewed
on or after January 1, 2021. Rates for Individual and Small Group ACA plans must be submitted
to the Department no earlier than June 27, 2020, and no later than July 15, 2020.

Federal law exempts student health plans from the filing deadlines applicable to single risk
pool plans. Likewise, federal guidance indicates that transitional plans have different
deadlines than single risk pool plans. In order to comply with Missouri law, rates for student
health plans and transitional plans should be filed with the Department at least 60 days prior
to the proposed effective date.

Post Proposed Rates for Individual and Small Group ACA Plans — August 14, 2020

Current federal guidelines require “Effective Rate Review” states to post proposed rates for
single risk pool plans no later than August 14, 2020. The Department does not intend to post
proposed rates earlier than this date.

Optional Quarterly Rate Filings for the Small Group Market

Current federal law permits single risk pool plans in the small group market to adjust rates as
often as quarterly. As Missouri law does not limit the frequency of rate filings, health carriers
may submit quarterly rate filings for small group market plans.

e 2021 Plans: Health carriers should submit rate filings by July 15, 2020. Rate filings for
subsequent quarters should be filed at least 60 days prior to the proposed effective date,
as required by 8376.465.

Transitional Plan Rate Filings

Missouri law doesn’t differentiate between transitional plans and other Subsection 7 plans.
Therefore, transitional plan rates must be filed at least 60 days prior to implementation, and are
subject to the same standards of review as other Subsection 7 plans. However, while current
federal guidance for transitional health plans only requires rate submissions where the proposed
rate increase exceeds the federally identified rate review threshold, under Missouri law all
transitional plan rate changes must be filed with the Department, regardless of the magnitude
or direction of the rate change.



Please note, for transitional plan rate changes that are less than the federal threshold, the
Department will not require companies to also file concurrently with CMS per 20 CSR 400-
13.100(8).

For Additional Rate Filing Guidance

General Instructions available via the System for Electronic Rate and Form Filing (SERFF) for
Missouri have been updated. Additional filing guidelines will be posted on the Department’s
website and updated as necessary.

Rate Filings for other Health Benefit Plans

For filing requirements applicable to grandfathered and excepted benefit plans that are not
Subsection 7 plans, please see 8376.465. For dental plans that a health carrier or licensed pre-
paid dental plan intends to make available on the exchange, rates must be filed in accordance
with §376.465, or thirty (30) days prior to the intended effective date.

Any questions or comments regarding this Bulletin should be directed to Camille Anderson-
Weddle at 573-522-3311 or Camille.Anderson@insurance.mo.gov.



mailto:Camille.Anderson@insurance.mo.gov

